Epiphanies of the ‘That Girl’

The ‘That Girl’ trend on TikTok highlights and emphasises a healthy lifestyle and activities that could benefit your life. Being well underway in my DA I have stumbled across a range of key epiphanies with this trend.

My account:

Based on the experience I am having within this media niche, it is far from what I had expected. The glamorous lifestyle, amazing health, and carefree is far from reality. Instead the videos are highly edited, extremely staged and very unrealistic. Countless amount of hours filming, editing and upload, whilst completing the tasks consume a large portion of your day. All whilst, trying to create an aesthetically pleasing video that will grab the attention of the audience which due to the TikTok algorithm is extremely challenging.

Key epiphanies

  • Filming the content was more time consuming then expected
  • Unrealistic and unattainable lifestyle
  • Youtube is critical and less glamourised

I will be drawing further on academic research and public sources to help analyse these epiphanies. What will I be researching?

  • Content creators – How long does it ACTUALLY take to film, edit and upload a TikTok?
  • Influencers – How realistic is the lifestyle they live and the impact on their mental health
  • Youtube – Compared to TikTok how real is YouTube?
Source 1

Three observations I have found whilst creating content in my media niche are:

  • Video has to be aesthetic to gain views
  • By using hashtags your content will appear to similar content creators
  • Engage and interact with similar content creators.

The way I will be applying these observations to my DA content and online persona in my media niche is to create aesthetically pleasing content that will gain attention to my target audience, hashtag my videos to gain exposure, and interact with similar content creators.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Victoria Bobbermien

Reference

Youtube.com. 2020. How To Edit A TikTok. <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eh1bYUz570A&gt; – Viewed 10 October 2021

Leave a comment